

REPORT EXTRAORDINARY COUNCIL MEETING 6 SEPTEMBER 2021

PRESENT: Councillors J Diffey, V Etheridge, D Grant, A Jones, S Lawrence, K Parker and J Ryan.

ALSO IN ATTENDANCE:

The Chief Executive Officer, the Executive Manager Governance and Internal Control, the Governance Team Leader, the Administration Officer Governance, the Communications Partner, the Director Organisational Performance, the IT Support Officer, the Director Culture and Economy, the Director Infrastructure, the Director Development and Environment and the Director Liveability.

Councillor S Lawrence assumed chairmanship of the meeting.

The proceedings of the meeting commenced at 5.31 pm with a prayer for Divine Guidance to the Council in its deliberations and activities. The acknowledgement of country was also read by Councillor V Etheridge. This meeting was held by video conference with live web streaming.

CCL21/196 LEAVE OF ABSENCE (ID21/1440)

A request for leave of absence was received from Councillor G Mohr who was absent from the meeting due to personal reasons.

Moved by Councillor A Jones and seconded by Councillor D Grant

MOTION

That such requests for Leave of Absence be accepted and Councillor G Mohr be granted leave of absence from this meeting.

CARRIED

CCL21/197 PUBLIC FORUM (ID21/1441)

There were no speakers during Public Forum.

In accordance with Schedule 7 Section 1 of the Local Government (General) Regulation 2005, the Chief Executive Officer acted as the returning officer to conduct this election.

CCL21/198 ELECTION OF MAYOR AND DEPUTY MAYOR FOR THE REMAINDER OF THE COUNCIL TERM (ID20/1691)

The Council had before it the report dated 1 September 2021 from the Chief Executive Officer regarding Election of Mayor and Deputy Mayor for the Remainder of the Council Term.

Moved by Councillor J Diffey and seconded by Councillor V Etheridge

MOTION

- 1. That the report of the Chief Executive Officer, dated 1 September 2021, be noted.
- 2. That the method of voting for the office of Mayor and Deputy Mayor be by Open Voting (show of hands).

CARRIED

CCL21/199 ELECTION OF MAYOR FOR THE MAYORAL TERM (ID20/1692)

At this stage, the Chief Executive Officer as Returning Officer invited nominations for the election of the office of Mayor for the remainder of the Council Term with the following written nomination received:

Councillor S Lawrence nominated by Councillor A Jones and Councillor K Parker

Councillor S Lawrence formally accepted his nomination.

The Chief Executive Officer as Returning Officer declared that as only one nomination was received for the position of the Mayor, Councillor S Lawrence is duly elected to the office of Mayor of Dubbo Regional Council for the remainder of the Council Term.

Councillor S Lawrence assumed Chairmanship of the meeting, the time being 5.36 pm.

CCL21/200 CREATION OF OFFICE OF DEPUTY MAYOR (ID20/1695)

The Council gave consideration to determining whether it would create the office of Deputy Mayor.

Moved by Councillor V Etheridge and seconded by Councillor J Diffey

MOTION

That the office of Deputy Mayor be created and operate for the remainder of the Council Term.

CARRIED

In accordance with Schedule 7 Section 1 of the Local Government (General) Regulation 2005, the Chief Executive Officer acted as the returning officer to conduct this election.

CCL21/201 ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR FOR THE MAYORAL TERM (ID20/1696)

At this stage, the Chief Executive Officer as Returning Officer invited nominations for the election of the office of Deputy Mayor for the remainder of the Council Term with the following written nominations received:

Councillor A Jones nominated by Councillor K Parker and Councillor S Lawrence

Councillors A Jones formally accepted her nomination.

The Chief Executive Officer as Returning Officer declared that as only one nomination was received for the position of the Deputy Mayor, Councillor A Jones is duly elected to the office of Deputy Mayor of Dubbo Regional Council for the remainder of the Council Term.

The meeting closed at 5.49 pm.	
CHAIRMAN	

Councillor S Lawrence assumed Chairmanship of the meeting, the time being 5.42 pm.