Cash prizes and literary recognition on offer in annual awards for writers and poets

The Annual Rolf Boldrewood Literary Awards are underway again and Macquarie Regional Library is calling all budding authors and poets to submit their entries for the chance to win $500 and be recognised for outstanding writing.

The Rolf Boldrewood Awards are named in honour of the Dubbo-based author of Robbery Under Arms which tells the story of Dick Marston and his life, loves and association with the notorious bushranger Captain Starlight, in the bush and goldfields of Australia in the 1850s.

Director of Macquarie Regional Library John Bayliss said the Awards foster the writing of prose and poetry in an Australian context.

“The Awards are open to a broad interpretation of the theme accommodating many writing styles and genres including fiction, memoirs and family history,” Mr Bayliss said.

The Awards, which this year celebrate 10 years since commencing, are a collaboration between Macquarie Regional Library and the Outback Writers’ Centre.

“Dubbo has a strong network of writers and poets and a number have been recognised in the Awards over the past 10 years. This is a great opportunity for new and established authors and poets to have their work recognised in a literary competition,” Mr Bayliss said.

Cash prizes of $500 first place winners, $250 to runner up and $50 for third prize will be awarded in both the Prose and Poetry categories. The only proviso for entry is that short stories can only be up to 2500 words long and the poetry may be in any form or style with a maximum of 80 lines.

Entries close Friday, 30 September 2016 with the presentation of the Awards to be held at the Dubbo Branch Library on Saturday 5 November 2016.

Entry forms are available at the library or from the library website

For more information contact the Director, Macquarie Regional Library, John Bayliss on 6801 4501.

Media Contact

John Bayliss
Director Macquarie Regional Library
6801 4501

Last Edited: 26 Aug 2016

Section Menu