Australia Day 2019 Award Winners

Seventeen deserving residents of Dubbo and Wellington have been recognised for their contribution to their community at Australia Day celebrations.The festivities started at Dubbo on Saturday morning with community and sporting achievement awards handed out at Victoria Park, before Wellington residents gathered at Cameron Park to see local heroes honoured.

The following recipients were presented with awards:


Citizen of the Year                              George Chapman

Senior Citizen of the Year                   Sue Hill

Young Citizen of the Year                   Jade Bunt

Sportsperson of the Year                    Nicole Grose

Young Sportsperson of the Year         Daniel Barber

Services to Sports Award                    Vaughn Eather

Cultural Person of the Year                Raelene Burn


Citizen of the Year                              Tyrone Kiernan

Senior Citizen of the Year                   Bill Redfern

Young Citizen of the Year                   Geena Purcell

Sportsperson of the Year                    Justin Toomey White

Junior Sportsperson of the Year         Bianca-Leigh Douglas

Community Event of the Year            Fong Lees Lane

Community Service/Achievement Awards

  • Scott Pettett
  • Naomi Jeffery
  • Erica Baigent
  • Bev Hutchison
  • Lisa Thomas


Mayor of the Dubbo Region Ben Shields congratulated all of the recipients on their awards.

“From our Citizen of the Year through to our Sportsperson of the Year, these awards are a fantastic reminder of the incredible talent we have in our region,” Councillor Shields said.

“They have all made a fantastic contribution and it is a privilege to be able to recognise their contribution.

Media contact:

Mayor of the Dubbo Region Councillor Ben Shields Phone 0418 639 053

Last Edited: 26 Jan 2019

Section Menu