

COUNCIL ELECTION RESULTS RELEASED

Results have been released by the NSW Electoral Commission for the lve council wards in the Dubbo Region Local Government Area (LGA).

Candidates now have up to 24 hours to request a recount, which would be determined by the NSW Electoral Commissioner.

Pending any such request, two councillors have been elected from each of the lve wards as follows:

- Central Ward Mathew Dickerson and Vicki Etheridge
- East Ward Lewis Burns and Damien Mahon
- North Ward Pamella Wells and Matthew Wright
- South Ward Shibli Chowdhury and Josh Black
- Wellington Ward Richard Ivey and Jess Gough

The result of the referendum asked during the election has also been declared.

In addition to voting, residents were asked whether they supported abolishing the current ward system in favour of a single area consisting of all voters that elects 11 councillors.

The outcome was:

- Yes 74.59%
- No 25.41%

"The next step will be for the new councillors to call for an Extraordinary Meeting of Council where a Mayoral Election can take place," said Dubbo Regional Council (DRC) CEO Murray Wood. "We will keep the community informed as that information comes to hand.

"The Governance team has been working tirelessly to make the transition for the newly elected body as seamless as possible, and we have a comprehensive induction program planned for the new and returning councillors to be held throughout January and February. That program will involve in-house and externally facilitated sessions, so the new councillors and the community can have conldence moving into this next term of council."

Newly elected councillors are required to Irst take an oath or a rmation before the Irst meeting of council. This will occur ahead of any Extraordinary Meeting called for a Mayoral Election and any other legislated requirements. Results can be viewed on the NSW Electoral Commission's website: https://vtr.elections.nsw.gov.au/LG2101/results

Last Edited: 17 Jul 2023