

NEW COUNCILLORS WELCOMED AT FIRST EXTRAORDINARY MEETING

Dubbo Regional Council (DRC) has welcomed 10 newly elected councillors including a new Mayor and Deputy Mayor at the Irst Extraordinary Meeting of Council.

Mayor of Dubbo Regional Council Mathew Dickerson said he was looking forward to leading councillors throughout the next term and building trust in the new team.

"I want to thank the community and my fellow councillors for their support," said Mr Dickerson. "It is an exciting time to be part of this new Council. I think the Dubbo region has a new beginning with this group of people who are committed to their community.

"Actions speak louder than words and we intend to work hard to deliver on our promises and earn the trust of our residents."

Deputy Mayor Richard Ivey said he felt humbled to be elected to the

position.

"I am honoured to have the opportunity to contribute something positive to this Council and thank my fellow councillors for putting their trust in me," said Mr Ivey. "Being able to represent Wellington in this capacity is an immense privilege and I believe all councillors have one main thing in common – to work towards the betterment of the entire region."

DRC CEO Murray Wood said councillors would undergo a comprehensive on-boarding program in early 2022.

"Induction workshops will take place throughout January and February and will be facilitated in-house and externally," said Mr Wood. "This will ensure councillors have a thorough understanding of their roles and they, along with the community can feel conlident in carrying out their duties moving into this new term.

"We look forward to working with the new and returning councillors to best meet the needs of the community, and we'll be holding an o cial welcome early next year."

Councillors took an oath or a rmation before the start of Thursday's meeting, then voted on the remaining items of agenda.

ELECTION OF MAYOR

Councillors voted unanimously to hold an 'open vote' to elect a Mayor, which meant a public show of hands. Mr Dickerson was unopposed and declared Mayor.

ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

The O"ce of Deputy Mayor was created by a unanimous vote and Mr Ivey was unopposed and declared Deputy Mayor.

FORMATION OF STANDING COMMITTEES AND DETERMINATION OF MEETING DATES AND TIMES

Councillors voted to adopt a meeting structure including three standing committees, with meetings to be held once per month and an Ordinary Council Meeting to be held once per month.

Three Standing Committees will be created:

- Infrastructure, Planning and Environment Committee to table with matters relating to Development and Environment and Infrastructure, as outlined in the report.
- 2. Culture and Community Committee to table matters relating to Culture and Economy and Liveability, as outlined in the report.
- Corporate Services Committee, to table matters relating to Organisational Performance and Executive Services, as outlined in the report.

Standing Committee meetings will be held on the second Thursday of each month commencing at 5.30pm with the Infrastructure, Planning

and Environment Committee, immediately followed by the Culture and Community Committee and the Corporate Services Committee; with the exception of January and December, where no Standing Committee meetings will be held.

Ordinary Council meetings will be held on the fourth Thursday of each month commencing at 5.30 pm, with the exception of December, where the Council meeting will occur on the second Thursday of the month to allow for the end of year holidays.

That Ordinary meetings of Council to be held in the Council Chamber in Dubbo, unless otherwise resolved.

That the Code of Meeting Practice be reviewed and adopted as soon as practicable to re§ect any changes to the scheduling of meeting dates and times.

CASUAL VACANCIES DURING THE FIRST 18 MONTHS OF THE COUNCIL TERM

Councillors voted unanimously that any casual vacancy that occurs within 18 months after the 4 December 2021, being the date of the last ordinary election of councillors, be !lled via a by-election.

DETERMINATION OF COUNCILLOR REPRESENTATION ON MANDATED COMMITTEES

Councillors determined the following:

1. That Councillor Chowdhury be the Councillor representative, with

Councillor Ivey the alternate, for the Audit and Risk Management

Committee.

2. That Councillor Etheridge be the Councillor representative, with

Councillor Mahon the alternate, for the Local Tra"c Committee.

3. That Councillor Burns be the Councillor representative, with

Councillor Wright the alternate, for the Floodplain Management

Committee.

4. That the above representatives will serve on the committees for

the duration of the Mayoral Term.

Last Edited: 17 Jul 2023