Dubbo Regional Council invites community participation in Council committees

Dubbo Regional Council is now seeking representatives to participate in Council committees including the new Wellington Town Assembly to help engage and promote better consultation with the community.

Dubbo Regional Council Mayor Councillor Ben Shields said he is looking forward to the new Wellington Town Assembly being formed so Council can have ongoing discussions with the community about matters of interest and importance to the community.

“Community participation is important for Council and these committees provide a chance for Councillors, Council staff and community representatives to work toward common goals,” Councillor Shields said.

“The community representatives bring the views of the public to the meetings and provide feedback, suggestions and advice on projects that affect the community,” he said.

Other committees to appoint community representatives include the Rural Consultative Working Party, the Dubbo Showground Advisory Committee, an Awards and Events Committee for Dubbo and Wellington, a Sister City Committee and a Cultural Facilities Committee.

Councillor Shields said the community representatives will be part of the decision making in various areas through their involvement in the committees.

“For example the Showground Advisory Committee makes recommendations to Council on the Showground matters, the Events and Awards Committee select recipients for major Awards and are involved in events such as Australia Day and the Sister City Committee helps foster relationships between Dubbo and Wellington and Sister Cities in Japan and China,” Councillor Shields said.

“The Cultural Facilities Committees considers matters relevant to the Dubbo Regional Theatre and Convention Centre, the Western Plains Cultural Centre and the Wellington Civic Centre.”

“The Rural Consultative Working Party is an important committee which ensures the interests of the villages and rural residents are also brought to Council,” he said.

“By participating in one of these committees community members can have an active voice in an area that interests them most and will help ensure the decisions Council makes are in the interests of the community at large,” Councillor Shields said.

The following Council Committees are seeking community representation:

Wellington Town Assembly
Five community representatives (residents of the township of Wellington, including the nearby large lot residential estates and Nanima village)

Dubbo Showground Advisory Committee
Two representatives of the Dubbo community

Dubbo Community Awards and Events Committee
Five Dubbo Community Representatives

Wellington Community Awards and Events Committee
Five Wellington Community Representatives

Sister Cities Advisory Committee
Six Community Representatives

Rural Consultative Working Party
One Resident Representative and one Alternate Resident Representative from each of the following village areas: Ballimore, Wongarbon, Toongi, Rawsonville, Eumungerie, Brocklehurst, Geurie, Elong Elong, Mumbil, Stuart Town, Euchareena, North Yeoval.
Plus two Community Representatives to represent rural residents.

Cultural Facilities Committee
Two Community Representatives

Nominations close at 5pm Friday 1 December 2017.

Nomination forms are available on Council’s website www.dubbo.nsw.gov.au, at either of Council’s Administration Buildings in Church Street, Dubbo or Nanima Cresent, Wellington or by contacting Council on 6801 4000.

Media Contact:

Council’s Communications and Stakeholder Engagement Phone 6801 4000

Last Edited: 16 Nov 2017

Section Menu