Council facilitates productive meeting with Qantas delegation

 Qantas Meeting

Dubbo Regional Council today hosted a delegation from Qantas where the pitch for basing a Pilot Training Academy was put forward as part of collaborative approach between Council and industry and community stakeholders.

The delegation was welcomed by Mayor of Dubbo Region Councillor Ben Shields and CEO of Dubbo Regional Council Michael McMahon, who reiterated the broad support indicated by all levels of Government for the facility to be based in Dubbo.

The group were then given an overview of the airport, with a detailed review of how Dubbo can meet the technical criteria as set out by Qantas, combined with a proven capacity to deliver on infrastructure projects and a capacity to grow with the needs of the Academy.

The delegation then toured proposed locations which included site visits, and met with key stakeholders over lunch to discuss lifestyle and investment appeal in an informal setting.

Council is confident that by taking a holistic approach to the city’s proposal including addressing the technical requirements of the facility for Dubbo to be a base for the Qantas Pilot Training Academy will position Dubbo well in this highly competitive process.

Dubbo Regional Council would like to thank the variety of stakeholders and community members that have provided support behind the various proposals throughout this process including Charles Sturt University, neighbouring Council’s, Airport and aviation stakeholders, the local business community and residents.

Photo order:

  1. Geoff McKechnie APM – Assistant Commissioner

  2. Michael McMahon – DRC CEO

  3. Herb Smith – Founder/Managing Director Dreamtime Tukka

  4. Steven Hinks, Director – Taronga Western Plains Zoo

  5. Charlotte Abbott – Chief Human Resources Officer

  6. Wes Nobelius – Executive Manager, Qantas Group Pilot Academy

  7. Cathy Maginnis – Head of Campus Dubbo CSU

  8. Oliver Craven-McLeay – Advisor Government and Public Affairs

  9. Mayor Of Dubbo Region Ben Shields

  10. Clr Craig Davies – Mayor Narromine Shire Council

  11. Adrian Young – QantasLink Chief Pilot and Head of Flying Operations

  12. Dean Loughran – Facilities Manager RFDS South Eastern Section

  13. Clr Greg Mohr – Chairman Airport Working Party

  14. Matthew Wright – President Dubbo Chamber & Commerce

  15. Geoff Boston - Project Manager AGPA

  16. Charlie Westgarth – Manager Group Property


Media Contact:

Council’s Communications and Stakeholder Engagement Team: 6801 4000

Last Edited: 10 Jul 2018

Section Menu